Whodathunk I would be too low carb?!

I clearly don’t know everything there is to know about diabetes.  I’m not sure, given that I physically can’t experience all types of the disease, that I ever will.

For World Diabetes Day, I had my A1c checked.  I learned a couple of valuable things from this.

  1. Checking your A1c at a pharmacy in between your normal three month test time, is the eqivalent of checking your weight multiple times in a week.  Okay, it’s not identical, but I was trying to think of an analogy that would work and this is the best I could come up with.
  2. A 6.5 A1c for some would be amazing!  It’s not for me (in Canada, the Canadian Diabetes Association has determined that 6.5 is the measurement of what makes you a diabetic.  It’s the number that I had and was, therefore, diagnosed at such.  It’s a number I truly resent.) and in fact, is a little (a lot) higher than my last A1c test.  Again, I shouldn’t grumble too loudly.  I know that there are others out there that would love to have that reading, so I’m trying to count my blessings that it’s actually not higher than that.
  3. Professionals don’t know everything.  It was a little awkward for me to educate the educator, that 6.5 is the lucky number for diagnosis in Canada.  Why am I telling someone who should already know this?

I had woken up yesterday feeling horribly under the weather.  By the afternoon, I thought it was the combination of not feeling 100% and my A1c test that had me feeling worse.

There’s hitting the wall and then there was what I was feeling:  any energy I still had was to keep running into the wall.

A dietician’s appointment this morning put things a little into perspective.  I eat too low carb.

Which brings me back to the point – I don’t know everything there is to know about my version of diabetes (or any at this juncture).

I think that this may be one of the hardest points of diabetes management for me to make sense of.  Food and I haven’t always had a healthy relationship and it appears we still don’t.  I’ve gone from being terrified of fat (please think of that as me referring to healthy fats) to terrified of fats and carbs.  And the reality is, now that I’m getting more active, I need that fuel to keep the tank running instead of running on fumes.

What I really need to do is get a handle on what makes a healthy carb, how to use carbs to my advantage, and still continue on with living a healthier lifestyle which includes an active lifestyle, exercise and weight loss.

So if you’ve read this far and have some quality resources, be they on the internet or books etc., I would be most interested to hear from you.  In particular, I’d be interested to hear from people who can remember just starting out with activity/training programs that include weight training, cardio, and in particular, training for a first 5k (no wogging this time!).

About RogueGirl

I like my music loud, drink tea and coffee, adore X-Men, Batman and Spider-Man comics, living straight edge, and studying both nutrition and CompTIA A+ certifications. I am a bit of a nerd. View all posts by RogueGirl

6 responses to “Whodathunk I would be too low carb?!

  • mjohnson9706

    Dr. Richard K. Bernstein’s “Dr. Bernstein’s Diabetic Solution” was a big help to me. He is Type 1, but there was plenty good info for the Type 2 as far as nutritional advice.

    I try to eat a gram of protein per pound of lean mass because I lift weights and would prefer not to lose muscle mass along with fat mass. Normally I work out in a fasted state, but sometimes I work out after eating. There is so much info out there that really we have to find our own “sweet spot” where the exercise/fuel is concerned.

    As for the scales, my scales hate exercise, my tape measure likes exercise. (sorry, I’ve never even thought about a 5k, much less prepared for one).

    • RogueGirl

      Lol, I never thought I’d think about doing a 5k either! We surprise ourselves in the most mysterious of ways. 🙂

      I have to confess, I was a little leery in regards to the “Dr. Bernstein’s Diabetic Solution” but after a little research today, I realise it’s not the same person as this whack job: http://www.drbdiet.com/

      I’ll have to take a look at the book – thanks for that tip!

      Do you ever use protein powders?

      Oh, and yes, sadly, now that you say it, I have to agree that we really do have to find our own sweet spot. But life would be so much easier if there were the sporadic cookie cutter solutions. 🙂

  • mjohnson9706

    Yes, there are a couple Dr. Bernsteins, and one is not like the other lol. Most of the book can be read online at his website. (I got my copy used)

    When I first started working out, I used protein powder. It was a brand that used splenda instead of the sugar. Even so, 30g of liquid protein spiked my blood sugar, so I stopped using it. You may not have a problem with it, as all of us are so different.

    Oh yes, it would be much easier lol,

  • RogueGirl

    Right. A little bit of playing guinea pig is in order. 🙂

    Thanks for the tip about his site – I’ll be sure to swing by this weekend and start doing some reading. I’m so glad I finally thought to look to see if these were two different people!

  • Sugar Free Mountain Biking

    I struggle and had a few hypo and zero energy moments. It’s all part of the learning and balance. I got told off for my last A1C as it was under 5.The nurse said if it was anyone else that would be great but she knows my tablets and me so knew it had to be hypos that kept it that low. Overnight ones from what I worked out so I had to adjust diet and tablets.
    I find out Tuesday what my latest one is.

    I gave up on advice from friends,doctors, wacko diets, paleo nonsense. In the end I did my own testing and found the foods that fitted my activity during the day. I did have a read of this site that was the most useful:

    http://www.runsweet.com/

    One bit of good advice from a friend was a telling off I had for trying to fix my diabetes in three weeks and getting fed up because I can’t – she knows me better than I do sometimes. I get frustrated when I don’t know how something works.
    I had to work hard to convince myself it’s a long term effort. Something my dad tells me as well. He’s been Insulin dependent for 15 years and is still cycling 20 to 30 miles several times a week at 71, he still misjudges food occasionally.

    Here’s what I’ve settled on at the moment, bearing in mind this is for someone on Gliclazide. Like any diet or advice it’s worth a try but carefully watch your BG readings. One thing I did find out from all ths diabetes stuff is we all react differently. There are things my dad eats that if even smell, my feet start to ache and nerves tingle 🙂

    Rather than work on how much I eat I’ve tried to work out how it affects my BG. So my 35g morning porridge sends BG up to 9ish and comes down to normal after a couple of hours. I try and avoid sustained readings above 7 most day. If it’s over I’ll test and see how quick it’s coming down. Mostly I can judge it by time and I know an apple at 10 will last me until lunch for example. Little and often works for me,

    For strenuous days (more than a 30 minute sessions). I will bulk up on carbs to keep BG up. It’s usually oat or dried fruit based stuff though. I find wheat or rice based stuff just sends my BG all over the place so avoid it. When exercising I will keep a higher level as it drops very quickly., keep it too low and it’s not long before I’m borderline hypo.

    I don’t do protein powders, I prefer something cooked as I tend to get serious munchies after a ride so a protein meal often staves off any carb cravings. One of my non diabetic cycling friends swears blind by a pint of milk after every ride.

    Keep at it and work out what’s best for you.

  • runningwithoutsugar

    I’m Type 2. I tried very low carb for a couple of months, then increased it to low carb for more than 5 months. I had fantastic A1c and BG numbers, but that’s it. Everything else was not great. I’m a runner and both the very low carb diet and the low carb diet did not sit well with me, especially when I started marathon training. I had no energy and was always sick, among other not-so-good results. So, I upped my carbs, and right now I’m happy at a lower-carb or a moderate carb diet. That said, I think that Type 2 diabetics should try low carb to see if it works for them, but keep an open mind if it doesn’t work for them, because not everyone is the same.

    I try to avoid processed carbs most of the time, and focus on non-processed or minimally processed ones. I distribute my carb intake during the day, instead of loading up in one sitting, so that my BG does not skyrocket. I eat the most carbs (usually fruits) after exercise. When I do a long run, I eat cut banana or orange during the run for energy. I exercise regularly, as it helps lessen my insulin resistance. And, I take metformin to help me manage a higher carb intake (mind you, not high carb) and an acceptable BG level.

Leave a Reply

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

mydiabetesandme

How I got control over my health.

sophoxymoria

31 year old dude tumbling through life's obstacle course...

Diabetes Unites

No longer will it be known as DIA-betes but rather LIV-abetes

Marjitecture.

Architecture + Design + Arts & Crafts + Lifestyle.

Bouncebackability Rules.

The Irreverent Racing + Football Blog.

Martha's Messy Kitchen

Let your food be your medicine, and your medicine be your food. -Hippocrates

Delectable Science

Nutritious and Delicious Explorations

a1-Conceive!

Real Diabetes. Real Life. Real...Baby? Maybe.

DiabetesAmerica's Blog

DiabetesAmerica on Wordpress

wee bee

a wee little bird chirps like a sailor and stings like a scream

HeartWyre

Just another WordPress.com site

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Tales of the Other Mother

An Honest Telling of the Childless Parent

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Sugar Free Zone

Sweetness without the sugar

TheEveryAll.com

In a few words?? Impossible. Wait...come to think of it, 'impossible' sums me up perfectly. A rookie's take on marriage, motherhood, and "going green"

