Sometimes, you’re just too tired to come up with a clever post title.

The last week and a half has been something of a holding pattern for me.

Through it, I’ve been reading other people’s blogs, making the odd comment here and there and generally have been feeling sorry for myself.

But today, something happened.  I can’t say it changed the roller coaster of emotions I’ve been feeling, but it put things to perspective, at least for the moment.

The last few days have been spent dealing with a horrific bout of lethargy and exhaustion.  I think it can be attributed to my not having done much walking lately, plus I’ve been feeling a wee bit under the weather.  I also think it’s because of this oh woe is me thing that I’ve been wallowing in.  So along with the lethargy and being totally zapped of any energy, I’m forgetting everything.  Monday, it was forgetting to leave out a back up laptop for a co-worker.  Tuesday I couldn’t remember to get half of the tasks I needed to get done a work completed.  Today though… I forgot supplements and my glucometer at home.  Doh!

I knew full well that I wasn’t getting enough food into my system.  I could sense my BS dipping.  I had that horrible light-headed feeling that comes right before the room starts to spin and the floor sways under your feet and that’s when it hit me.  All of those blogs that I read, ones that focus on a life diabetic and are predominantly Type 1, that talk about the struggles with maintaining that balance, getting that perfect reading, counting carbs and the like.  The ones that women are trying so hard to get their BG and A1c levels to a “normal” level so they can try and make perfect little babies.  Those folks?  They can’t forget their glucometers at home.  I realised that, even though I have this amazingly captacular disease, there are those that have it worse than me.

My struggles are in coming to terms with my having the ‘betes.  Others struggle with not just coming to terms with it, but also with the desire to do things that normal people do – like have babies.

My petulance can sometimes shock even me, and today was one of those days.

So while there will still be moments of petulance, moments of self pity, I truly hope this is a turning point for me.  And while there are many people to thank, there is one in particular that I feel I need to acknowledge.

Sarah Wainwright writes a beautiful blog.  She’s Type 1 and she finds the positive even in the darkest situations.  Her faith sustains her and even though I will never meet her, her kinds words soothed a very ravaged soul this week.  Wise beyond her years, through Sarah’s writing, I know I will learn much.

So Sarah, if you read this, thank you.  I hope you know you have the power to change people for the good. 🙂

About RogueGirl

I like my music loud, drink tea and coffee, adore X-Men, Batman and Spider-Man comics, living straight edge, and studying both nutrition and CompTIA A+ certifications. I am a bit of a nerd. View all posts by RogueGirl

5 responses to “Sometimes, you’re just too tired to come up with a clever post title.

  • msteck

    Eventually, having diabetes gets to be a “normal” thing and you have the option of either going on ahead with life anyway and taking it with you, or sinking in to letting this disgusting disease eat you up. It’s a nice thing when you realize that you went through a meal, an event, a meeting without thinking about BGLs, carbs, or where supplies are. It really does get easier. It doesn’t suck any less, not by any means, but it does get easier to manage as it becomes less a diagnosis and more of a way of life. 🙂

  • msteck

    Reblogged this on Tales of the Other Mother and commented:
    There are a lot of us out there, all trudging through a disease in common. We can do this. Frankly, we have no other choice.

  • RogueGirl

    It’s because of people like you Melissa, that I am remembering to pull up my big girl panties.

    I’m wallowing in self pity now, but even I’m starting to get bored with it. 😉

  • sarahcaroline14

    So I’m really horrible at keeping up with other people’s blogs (I can barely keep up with my own–haha!) –and especially leaving comments. You’ll probably find that I might come and spend a lot of time catching up on your blog maybe once a month…like right now. 🙂

    And then as I’m reading, I spot my name and become incredibly humbled by your kind words. Thank you. I’m honored that God would use a little cracked pot like me to shine through and impact others.

    It’s so cliche, it’s hard to believe, but it’s also very true: It. Gets. Easier. I pray that will sink down deep inside you and give you some hope. Sending much love your way and best wishes for a great weekend full of good readings…and enjoyable food. 😉

Leave a Reply

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

mydiabetesandme

How I got control over my health.

sophoxymoria

31 year old dude tumbling through life's obstacle course...

Diabetes Unites

No longer will it be known as DIA-betes but rather LIV-abetes

Marjitecture.

Architecture + Design + Arts & Crafts + Lifestyle.

Bouncebackability Rules.

The Irreverent Racing + Football Blog.

Martha's Messy Kitchen

Let your food be your medicine, and your medicine be your food. -Hippocrates

Delectable Science

Nutritious and Delicious Explorations

a1-Conceive!

Real Diabetes. Real Life. Real...Baby? Maybe.

DiabetesAmerica's Blog

DiabetesAmerica on Wordpress

HeartWyre

Just another WordPress.com site

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Tales of the Other Mother

An Honest Telling of the Childless Parent

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Sugar Free Zone

Sweetness without the sugar

TheEveryAll.com

In a few words?? Impossible. Wait...come to think of it, 'impossible' sums me up perfectly. A rookie's take on marriage, motherhood, and "going green"

Running Without Sugar

Thoughts of someone who happens to be diabetic.

