Sorry, I may be having a bad day.

When you write on the internet, you invite people to throw in their two cents, whether you want them or not.  Unless you choose not to allow comments to be posted, and that’s your right.  The afore mentioned shouldn’t be rocket science and yet, why would you think that, if you respond to something someone has written, that there may be criticism in what you have written?

Apparently, I missed the lesson that the interwebz is a two way street.  Or perhaps I ignored it.

I had made a comment on a blog to a woman who is trying to conceive and had, sadly, miscarried.  I have no idea how long she’s been trying for, and I certainly can’t relate to what myriad of emotions she must be going through after trying, and then losing, to get pregnant.

I have never tried to get pregnant.  I have tried, really, really hard not to, but I’ve never set out to become “with child.”  It’s a foreign concept to me, and now at my age, I can say that ship has sailed.  Anyway, I don’t know what all one has to do (apart from the horizontal mambo) to conceive.  I do have some idea, from my nutritional schooling, that you want to prepare your body to be in the healthiest condition you can make it – mentally, physically and spiritually – so that you’re in the best shape to, er, get your groove on and make babies.

I have an idea that there are things you can control and there are things you can’t.

Anyway, I don’t particularly care what people do to themselves.  If a person’s vice is to smoke, or to drink or eat chocolate covered potato chips, whatever, I have my vices that I turn to in moments of weakness/anger/frustration/fear, I’d be a hypocrite in saying don’t do it.  But I’m really hoping that I wasn’t standing on a preachy soap box and doing that.  My hope was to just… actually, I don’t know what my hope was.  I do know that I felt horrible for a total stranger who wanted nothing more than to have kids with her husband. 

At the end of the day, no matter how many different ways I apologised and said I wasn’t judging or that I was just the peanut gallery, it was her friend who took the most offense to the post, and then the writer took offense after the fact.

I don’t know why it bothers me, but it does.  It is a valuable lesson though, in that just because the invitation to comment is out there, be aware that someone can critique my comments too.

Now having said all of that, I’m going to full on rant for a moment.

If you want to lose weight, and you’re working out and “doing all the right things”, don’t be surprised that you’ve put on as much weigh as I have lost because you binge eat, and when you binge eat, you eat food that is utter crap for you.  Just because you’re having a “healthy breakfast” doesn’t mean that the portion size, which could feed a small village, is healthy for you.

Vices, whatever they are, aren’t usually healthy.  If they were, chances are they wouldn’t be called vices.

I personally don’t want to end up blind, with kidney failure, missing a leg and die of a stroke, so no matter how much I love my fat free coconut flavoured yogurt, I’m going to have to consider giving that up because, at 13 grams of carbs per 100 grams, it’s now more of a vice than something healthy for me.

We’ve all got our own shit to deal with, whether it’s diabetes, bad diet, unable to conceive, unable to pay rent, troubles with the in-laws, crappy job, whatever, but you get out of life what you put into it.  Same with the body.  Garbage in?  Garbage out.

My comments, from now on, may be a lot less unless I actively follow a blog to begin with.  Why?  ‘Cos I’m a tool and don’t want to feel crappy too.  And I feel crappy now.

Jack

About RogueGirl

I like my music loud, drink tea and coffee, adore X-Men, Batman and Spider-Man comics, living straight edge, and studying both nutrition and CompTIA A+ certifications. I am a bit of a nerd. View all posts by RogueGirl

One response to “Sorry, I may be having a bad day.

Leave a Reply

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

mydiabetesandme

How I got control over my health.

sophoxymoria

31 year old dude tumbling through life's obstacle course...

Diabetes Unites

No longer will it be known as DIA-betes but rather LIV-abetes

Marjitecture.

Architecture + Design + Arts & Crafts + Lifestyle.

Bouncebackability Rules.

The Irreverent Racing + Football Blog.

Martha's Messy Kitchen

Let your food be your medicine, and your medicine be your food. -Hippocrates

Delectable Science

Nutritious and Delicious Explorations

a1-Conceive!

Real Diabetes. Real Life. Real...Baby? Maybe.

DiabetesAmerica's Blog

DiabetesAmerica on Wordpress

HeartWyre

Just another WordPress.com site

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Tales of the Other Mother

An Honest Telling of the Childless Parent

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Sugar Free Zone

Sweetness without the sugar

TheEveryAll.com

In a few words?? Impossible. Wait...come to think of it, 'impossible' sums me up perfectly. A rookie's take on marriage, motherhood, and "going green"

Running Without Sugar

Thoughts of someone who happens to be diabetic.

